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****Effective Immediately, through December 15, 2016**** 
During the 2015 legislative session, Washington state lawmakers passed the College Affordability Act, which 
lowers tuition at Washington’s public colleges and universities over the next two academic years. Further, 
beginning in the 2017-18 academic year, annual tuition increases may be no more than the state’s average annual 
growth rate in median hourly wage. These new tuition provisions affect some of the assumptions that the GET 
pricing and payout models have historically been based on. 
 
Accordingly, the GET Committee has voted to allow all GET customers the opportunity to refund all, or a portion 
of their GET accounts without program refund penalties or fees, through December 15, 2016. The Committee also 
voted to waive the two-year wait requirement that typically applies to all accounts before they can be refunded, 
through December 15, 2016. IF YOU ARE CONSIDERING REQUESTING A REFUND, READ THE 
IMPORTANT REFUND POLICY UPDATES BELOW BEFORE COMPLETING THE 
REFUND/CANCELLATION REQUEST FORM: 
 
Refund Details for Customers Who Refund Their Account(s) On or Before December 15, 2016: 
• Customers who refund their account(s) on or before December 15, 2016 will receive, at a minimum, the 

current unit payout value of $117.82/unit.  

• Customers who refund their account(s) and paid more than the current payout value will receive back the 
entire amount of their contributions. This includes customers with Custom Monthly plans who may have paid 
a unit price lower than the current payout value of $117.82, but effectively paid more than the current payout 
value due to monthly financing charges. 

• Customers may request a refund of all units in their account, or a portion of the total units in their account. 
Customers who request a portion of the total units in their account will receive a refund of the units purchased 
most recently.  

• The non-refundable enrollment fee and any previously incurred account fees (i.e. late payment fees and 
dishonored payment fees) will be deducted from all final refund amounts. 

• To request a refund, you must complete a Refund/Cancellation Request form, available at 
www.get.wa.gov/forms, or by calling 1.800.955.2318, or by writing GET at the address on the next page.  

• Program refund fees and penalties, and the two-year wait requirement will be waived for all refund requests 
received on or before December 15, 2016.  

• The earnings portion of any refund may still be subject to federal taxes, penalties and fees, payable to the IRS 
(typically any increased value is taxed as income, and an additional 10% penalty applies).  

• A 1099-Q tax form will be sent to you that shows the principal and earnings portions of your refund. You 
may be required to report this information to the IRS.  

• To avoid a taxable event, you may deposit your refund into another 529 plan within 60 days of the date your 
refund is processed. To compare various 529 plans, go to www.collegesavings.org. 

• WE STRONGLY ADVISE THAT YOU CONSULT IRS PUBLICATION 970 AND A TAX ADVISOR 
ABOUT POTENTIAL TAX IMPLICATIONS BEFORE REQUESTING A REFUND. YOU SHOULD 
ALSO CONSULT YOUR LEGAL AND FINANCIAL ADVISORS BEFORE REQUESTING A 
REFUND. 

• It may take 10-12 weeks to process your refund from the time that GET receives your request. 

  

http://www.get.wa.gov/forms
http://www.collegesavings.org/
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p970.pdf
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General Refund Rules 
• Only the Account Owner may request a refund. It is the responsibility of the Account Owner to fully 

understand all other account options in lieu of a refund, prior to requesting a refund. Account Owners have 
the following account options, in lieu of a refund (Account Owners often exercise one of these options when it 
appears that a Student Beneficiary may not plan to use the funds in the GET Account, or if the Account 
Owner is experiencing a financial hardship):  

o Students have up to ten years from their benefit use year to begin using their units. They have an 
additional ten years to finish using their units once the first account withdrawal is made.  

o The funds in the GET account can be transferred to another family member (out to first cousin) of the 
Student Beneficiary. 

o The GET Account Owner can change the Student Beneficiary named on the GET account to another 
family member (out to first cousin) of the Student Beneficiary. 

o Custom Monthly Plan Account Owners who are unable to continue making their monthly payments 
have the option to reduce the terms of their contract or convert their Custom Monthly account to a 
Lump Sum account. 

o The GET Account Owner may request reimbursement for any qualified higher education expenses 
paid out of pocket in the current calendar year. 

• Account refunds may or may not be in the best long-term financial interest of the Account Owner, and it is the 
Account Owner’s responsibility to determine their preferred choice.  

• The Account Owner must submit an original (no copies or faxes) signed and notarized Refund/Cancellation 
Request form and supporting documentation (if required) to: 

GET Program, PO Box 43450, Olympia, WA 98504-3450 

• Refund checks are made payable to the Account Owner, unless the “Student Beneficiary" is indicated as the 
person to receive the refund. 

• On information and belief, the IRS assesses a 10% penalty for withdrawals not transferred to another 529 plan, 
or not used for qualified higher education expenses (non-qualified withdrawals), with a few exceptions. 
Additionally, the earnings portion of all refunds may be taxed as income. WE STRONGLY ADVISE YOU 
TO CONSULT IRS PUBLICATION 970 AND A TAX ADVISOR ABOUT POTENTIAL TAX AND 
PENALTY IMPLICATIONS.  

• We will mail a 1099-Q each January following the year of distribution to the individual who received the 
refund. Please consult a tax advisor before requesting a refund to determine any federal income tax liability. 

• If the Program denies a refund request, the Account Owner may submit a letter to the Program Director within 10 
days after notification, asking for reconsideration. If the Director denies reconsideration, the Account Owner may 
submit a letter to the Committee Chair within 10 days after notification, asking for reconsideration. The Committee 
Chair will conduct a brief adjudicative proceeding on the merits of the request and render a final decision. 

• ACCOUNT OWNERS WITH ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT THE GET REFUND/CANCELLATION 
POLICY, OR ABOUT THEIR ACCOUNT OPTIONS IN LIEU OF A REFUND ARE STRONGLY 
ENCOURAGED TO CALL OR EMAIL THE GET CONTACT CENTER AT 1.800.955.2318 OR AT 
GETINFO@WSAC.WA.GOV BEFORE REQUESTING A REFUND. 

  

mailto:GETINFO@WSAC.WA.GOV
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Refund and Cancellation Summary 
 

Type of Refund/ 
Cancellation Refund Value* Program 

Penalty 
Program 

Fee 
IRS 

Tax/Penalty ** Documentation   Required***/Comments 

General Refunds      

College 
Affordability 
Act/Lower Tuition 
Refunds (made by 
December 15, 
2016) 

Current GET 
unit payout 

value or 
contributions, 
whichever is 

greater. 

N/A N/A 
Earnings portion 
taxed as income  
and subject to 

10% penalty tax. 

• Two-year wait requirement is temporarily 
waived (through December 15, 2016). 

Qualified 
Refunds      

Death or 
Disability 
of the Student 
Beneficiary 

Current GET 
unit payout 

value or 
contributions, 
whichever is 

greater. 

N/A N/A 
Earnings portion 
taxed as income,  

no penalty. 

• Death of student: A copy of the student 
beneficiary’s death certificate. 

• Disability of student: Documentation from 
a medical professional stating that the 
student beneficiary’s disability prevents 
the student beneficiary from attending any 
institution of higher education. 

Scholarship 
(Includes 
appointments to 
United States 
service academies, 
Veterans’ 
educational 
assistance such as 
the GI Bill, 
employer-provided 
educational 
assistance, 
fellowships, 
grants, or other 
nontaxable 
educational 
assistance 
payments) 

Current GET 
unit payout 

value or 
contributions, 
whichever is 

greater. 

N/A N/A 
Earnings portion 
taxed as income,  

no penalty. 

• Documentation of the scholarship (or 
similar educational assistance)-awarding 
entity, the scholarship amount and the 
applicable academic term. 

• Account owner must complete a new 
Refund/Cancellation Request form for 
scholarship refunds for subsequent years. 

• Refunds are limited to the scholarship 
award amount, not to exceed 125 units per 
academic year (plus eligible units from 
prior benefit use years). 

• Refunds for scholarships must be 
requested during the academic year in 
which the scholarships are awarded. 

• Review IRS Publication 970, Chapter 8 
for details. 

Other 
Refund 
Types 

     

Graduation or  
Program 
Completion 

Current GET 
unit payout 

value or 
contributions, 
whichever is 

greater. 

N/A N/A 

Earnings portion 
taxed as income  
and subject to 

10% penalty tax. 

• Documentation showing the student 
beneficiary has graduated or completed a 
degree or certificate program. 

 
* Partial refunds will pay out the most recently purchased units first. 
** GET does not offer tax advice. Contact a tax advisor for further details. 
*** You must send a Refund/Cancellation Request form and any other documentation required. 

http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p970.pdf
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